Waiting / Ождание

I’ve been home for a couple of days from Fulbright PDO.

Oh my lord. I met so many amazing people. So many. I met people from all over the country who are going to various places in Europe and Eurasia…primarily Eastern Europe. Many of them are going to Russia. I got to learn about their plans and aspirations. It was so exciting and intense. Oh yes, very intense, I’m still worn out from such a week. But it’s more than worth it.

I feel I may have made some lifelong friends there.

So to describe the week in as short a span as I can: The first two and a half days were for ETA training–essentially, how to teach language. It was interesting and a good opportunity to get the creative juices flowing. I can’t wait to have time to sit down and create lesson plans (although I have a couple already completed thanks to some of the sessions at PDO). The next two and a half days were more technical stuff–adjusting to being in another country/cultural differences, health issues/medicine/insurance, social networking, and general Q&A sessions with returning Fulbrighters. In the evenings we were mostly free. I visited two of my good friends who are both in D.C. on internships on two nights and on the others went out with some of my new friends. I tried different kinds of food, like Moroccan and Ethiopian. Did a little sightseeing. Absolutely incredible stuff.

I get the sense that the connections I have made and that I have yet to make will be with me for the rest of my life. My life is about to become richer for it. That realization that took my breath away.

To other Fulbrighters and other world travelers who might be reading this, you know what I’m talking about. And you know how hard it is to convey the excitement and anticipation of the future we are facing. I know I’ve never been more excited about anything in my life. I don’t know about you, but to me it’s different from the kind of anticipation I’ve had for anything else.

Takoe prekrasnoe budushchee vizhu. What a beautiful future I can see.

This reminds me of a song that I’ve been listening to for a while. It’s called “Nash Put'” (“Our Path” or “Our Way”) by a power metal band called Catharsis. However, this is one of their slow songs. I love it.

For those of you who speak Russian, here are the lyrics in Cyrillic: http://masteroff.org/10826.html

For those of you who do not speak Russian, I’ve transliterated and translated the lyrics for you below. I think you’ll find them extremely beautiful, as is the song itself.

That’s it for now. Until next time, moyi druz’ya, take care.

Danya

Dyen'... [Day...]
Vot i noviy dyen'. [There's yet a new day.]
T'ma otpustila. [The night has let go.]
Na Zemlye [On the Earth]
I v moye cud'bye [And in my destiny]
Dyen' - solntsa sila! [Day - of a strong sun!]
Nash put' [Our path]
Yesho dalyok! [Still far!]
Poka ne vlasten nad serdtsami lyod - vperyod! [Until ice masters our hearts - onward!]

Svyet... [Light...]
Vnov' nebesniy svyet [Again heavenly light]
Nam cmotrit v dushi. [Peers into our souls.]
Dan zavyet - [A given covenant - ]
Inogo nyet [There is no other]
Svyet - vot oruzhiye! [Light - there's the weapon!]

Nash put' [Our path]
Yesho dalyok [Still far!]
I prodolzhaetsya streli polyot! [And still the arrows fly!]
Nash put' [Our path]
Yesho dalyok! [Still far!]
Poka ne vlasten nad serdtsami lyod - vperyod! [Until ice masters our hearts - onward!]
Tol'ko ne ver' [Don't just believe]
Toskye poter'! [Lose your sorrow!]
Nyet, ne clomit' [No, don't break]
Stal'nuyu nit' [The iron thread]
Myezhdu nami! [Between us!]

Plamya zvezdoy gorit, [Star fire burns]
Siyayet slava utrenney zari! [Glory of a morning dawn shines!]
Angel yeyo khranit - [An angel saves it - ]
Smotri: krilya yevo - kak myech i shchit! [Behold: his wings - like sword and shield!]

Znachit, nash put' dalyok! [So, our road is long!]
I prodolzhaetsya streli polyot [Still the arrows fly!]
Nash put' [Our path]
Yesho dalyok! [Still far!]
Poka ne vlasten nad serdtsami lyod - vperyod! [Until ice masters our hearts - onward!]
About siberianadventures

Language Nerd Extraordinaire!

Posted on July 26, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 595 other followers

