Almost time / Почти пора

The time of my departure is coming up fast. I leave August 31st.

Vremya letaet. Time flies.

I have my stuff gathered in a corner of the house, waiting to be packed up and shipped off with me to Krasnoyarsk. It is going to be a looooooooong flight, well over 24 hours (including layovers). I’m about to purchase my ticket and I’m working on getting some more Fulbright paperwork in as well as getting my visa. On top of that, there’s a whole bunch of other preparations to be done, but not only for Fulbright. I’m also studying for the GRE. Put together, it all seems so stressful.

But how I am looking forward to the adventure ahead!

I love the idea of being on the other side of the world. I love the idea that I am going to places that I’ve never been to before, see places that not many Americans can say they’ve seen. Krasnoyarsk was a city closed to foreigners up until the 1980s. I can’t imagine many Americans have been there, so I am excited. I like the idea of breaking new ground.

The time is so close yet so far. I have 27 more days. (Technically 29, since I won’t actually arrive in Krasnoyarsk until early in the morning on September 2nd.) But experience tells me the time is going to go in a snap. So I am working as hard as I can to get things done.

I am trying to enjoy myself at the same time. I’m meeting up with friends I haven’t seen in a while to catch up and make sure I spend some time with them before I go. Tomorrow I will be spending some time with my boyfriend, which I am looking forward to. I am enjoying myself at work and at home. I make sure to spend time with my bird Skittles, my dog Kona, and my cat Chloe, all of whom I love so much. Right now I’m savoring the time I have left.

I love you, moyi druz’ya, and I look forward to spending time with you over the next couple of weeks.

Take care until next time!

Danya

About siberianadventures

Language Nerd Extraordinaire!

Posted on August 4, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Waiting is the worst. But hey, at least you know when you’re going! My departure date is still TBD

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 595 other followers

